Seeking a Boat Buying Guide for Dummies

Moderator: lt.wolf

photofinish
JV

Seeking a Boat Buying Guide for Dummies

Post by photofinish »

I'm relatively new to the buying side of boats. I've been an athlete for a long while and gathered information where necessary, but my knowledge is fairly shallow. Now that I'm seriously looking at buying boats (both for myself and for a program), I'm left pretty clueless as to what questions I should be asking and what types of boats I should be looking at. Unfortunately, most of the recommendations rowers offer don't go into technical details of boat (shape, material, weight, etc). Most of the boat preference knowledge in the rowing world, mine included, seems to be brand loyalty, usually of the flavor "well I rowed this brand of boat for a long time and it felt good." Not saying this is necessarily wrong, but without a reasoned analysis of boat design, my assumption is that there really isn't much of a difference between brands and most people's preferences are just anecdotal.

Essentially, I'm looking for any sort of comprehensive introduction on the different features to look for in a boat design. What are the trade offs between different shapes, are certain upgrades worth it, what brands are no-go's and why, etc. If anybody has a link or a suggestion for further reading, or even if you just want to drop some information here, I'd appreciate it!
Minetti
JV

Re: Seeking a Boat Buying Guide for Dummies

Post by Minetti »

To be honest... I think in the end there isn't much difference in this or that boat shape. It boils down to just marginal differences.