lack of power

Moderators: lt.wolf, bendtheoar

tewbz
Pre-Elite

lack of power

Post by tewbz »

right now im a sophomore in high school have been rowing for 3 years and doing fairly well. my problem is this, in the past 3 years since starting rowing I have continued to grow tall like I should be but I haven't gained any weight at all since I started high school at around 140 lbs and still weigh in at 139-140. my biggest problem is that I seem to be lacking the power to drop my 2k time much more. im thinking that is if I put on say 10lbs of muscle that it would help me take alot of time off my 2k. the reason that I think that power is the problem is that i have guys on my team that pull 2ks around 6:55 that I can beat on longer distances but they destroy me when it comes to low rate/high power and sprints. so, would putting on muscle help me? and if so can someone help me with a program to do so. I am going to ask the same question from my coach tomorrow.
caustic
Old timer

Re: lack of power

Post by caustic »

In short, putting on muscle will help - but you're growing, which is ultimately to your advantage. you gotta eat like its a job to be able to grow as fast as you're growing AND put on weight. But ultimately, I wouldn't lose TOO much sleep over it - you're a sophmore in HS, and if you're growing as fast as most sophmores are, you will be in a good position by the time you're a senior, so long as you eat enough.
LiquidMercury
JV

Post by LiquidMercury »